Adventures in Edmonton Music!

So the other Thursday I missed the Collective West play at the Artery, and this left me pretty sad because not only are they nice people who put on a fun show, but their new music proves Darwin was right about that theory of evolution thing, and, if you really think about it, them growing as a band actually serves as a microcosm for the Edmonton music community, so even though I was chapped I didn’t catch their gig I knew I could redeem myself the upcoming weekend and to get things going I got on the LRT Friday evening  and hopped off at Culture Days downtown in time to catch  everyone talking about how good Mad Bomber Society’s set was and then I ran into a bunch of my friends and we danced to Shout Out Out Out Out as they played new music, did impossibly high high-kicks, and had folks like Cadence Weapon join them on stage for a free show in beautiful autumn weather that anyone could come to, including the mayor who drifted through the crowd right past me, but after the show people wandered off and my friend Gord from Wool on Wolves, (get ready for their rad new album in November by the way), ran into me and we decided it was a good idea to head across the river, pick up his bandmate Eric, and go to the community hall in Bonnie Doon where CJSR was hosting a Fundrive show so they could stay on the air, which us and a lot of other people thought was a great idea, including the host of the show, the guy from the girl-guy combo who make up the Awesomehots, who introduced the Uncas, who put on a fiercely amazing show, including a song that included playing the guitar with a skil-saw, and after that Scenic Route to Alaska went on stage and were joined by Lyra Brown and somehow by joining forces they’ve created something that is incredible and gives the audience the chills and has to last, but they played pretty late so afterwards it was time to go home and I didn’t see anymore music until Saturday evening when Tyler Butler took the stage at the Elevation room at another CJSR Fundrive show and somehow his music can make me feel like I’m back in the deep south of the United States even though he’s never been there, and I knew it’d been worth it to catch his set even though my girlfriend and I had to hike across the river right after he was done and go to the New City Legion because Ben Disaster, and then Mike McDonald, and then Joey Keithley played acoustic punk for everyone lucky enough to be there, but once again things went late and when they were done it was time to go home. Good thing too, because I was running out of breath.

Explore posts in the same categories: Edmonton Music Scene

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

