Don’t it make you smile: Wool on Wolves play the Edmonton Folk Fest

A few months ago, I was sitting with my friend Tom in the Garneau Pub.  He was just about to leave for a trip around India with his wife, and we were having a few bon voyage beers. Tom’s also the singer from the Edmonton band Wool on Wolves, and we’d just listened to the unmastered tracks from their new album. We were talking about the new songs, and how I was going to write about them on my blog.

I told him some ideas I had for the article, but he cut me off.

“Write what you want,” he said.

I immediately had an Almost Famous flashback. Even though, of course, I wasn’t a writer for Rolling Stone, and he wasn’t from a band that would ever be excited to fly in a private airplane. Still, I thought it was funny that we’d ended up vaguely mirroring a scene from one of our favorite movies, and I thought, how the heck did we end up here?

Tom and I became friends in our first year of college in Red Deer, in part because we had a ton of mutual friends, and, more importantly, because we both had shirts with the words “Led Zeppelin.” His love for music was always on his sleeve, and so was his love for his friends. This was always made clear simply by what he said to people. His words had a big impact on me. This is still the same today.

The thing about Tom, you see, is that his words reflect his character, his warmth, and his inability to be insincere. And when he told me to write whatever I wanted on my blog, he wasn’t trying to reference a movie. Tom just wanted me to be honest.

And that’s what he does with his lyrics. To top that off, Tom somehow found four friends who share his uncommon trait to always be genuine – and so Wool on Wolves is a band that embodies authenticity in an increasingly superficial world. They could have been a hip-hop group, a punk band, a jazz ensemble, or a throwback to Stillwater from Almost Famous, but the honesty of their songs would still be shining through.

But Wool on Wolves isn’t a band that fits into those categories, if you believe in things like genres. What they are though, is the band playing on Stage 2 at The Edmonton Folk Fest tonight at 8:00. So come hear Tom’s sincerity, and the passion of Wool on Wolves, for yourself.

Explore posts in the same categories: Edmonton Music Scene, So Russell...what do you love about music?

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

