Who Said YOU Could Label Dissent?

On Tuesday, 8 March 2011- Dr. Michael MacDonald and I will be giving a public lecture at the University of Alberta. As you can see on the poster, it’s called “Listening to Dissent: The Sound of Protest from Woody Guthrie to Rage Against the Machine.”

The talk is going to deal with the role of music in protest – and I don’t know if you’ve being reading the papers lately, but there’s been a heck of a lot of dissent against authority going on recently. So if you’re in the neighborhood, stop on by Tory 1-125 for a discussion on the attitude that musicians from Woody Guthrie to Joe Strummer to Joey Keithley to Tom Morello share.

Oh yeah, and there’ll be snacks!

Explore posts in the same categories: "Intellectual" Events, Punk and Politics, Punk and Protest

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Who Said YOU Could Label Dissent?”


  1. Bah – I’ll be on a plane when you’re doing this gig. I wish I could be there, I’m extremely intrigued by the topic of discussion. Hope all goes well.
    MVH

  2. Matt Says:

    Great talk Rylan. Got me thinking away. Could you post Michael’s blog address? I should have had the notepad out!

  3. Dawn Detarando Says:

    Wow! I sure would have loved to catch that one! Congrats, i’m sure it went swimmingly. Did you mention one of my fave’s Billy Bragg?
    D


Leave a Reply

